Nonfiction · Prose

Oh, Sherlock

I’ve always assumed that love is a dangerous disadvantage. Thank you for the final proof.

This is a line from Season 2 Episode 1 of the TV series, Sherlock, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. (Yes, I am a big fan. No, this post isn’t about how amazing Sherlock Holmes or the show is.)

Coming from a weekend getaway a few weeks ago, I was ecstatic. I couldn’t contain the happiness, almost everyone who deeply knew me know how relieving that experience was for me. Yet, despite the joy that fills my heart, a bit of anxiety still exists. I kept on thinking how surreal everything was, how it can’t truly be all rainbows and butterflies, I was silently anticipating the rain.

Little did I know that the first morning I spend on my home country, would a storm hit me, hard. I was ready for a bit of rain, I was actually preparing myself for a little fallback. But no, a typhoon on a Monday morning in warm August welcomed me, knocking down every wall I’ve ever built since I was a small kid, smashing down all my defenses.

It was eight o’clock and I was already in tears. That’s when I thought of this line from Sherlock. I even texted a friend about how “Sherlock got it wrong”. Love may be a disadvantage but surely happiness is too. It might even be worse, for nothing in this world can be as fragile as happiness.

I’ve held on to that perspective until now, when my thirteen year old sister told me after watching a Disney movie that sadness and happiness kind of goes together. And what surprised me was in just a few hours, I told the same thing to a friend: that happiness and sadness coexist, in order for us to feel the intensity of their differences, to be able to appreciate them as we feel it.

Yes, happiness may be fragile but it isn’t a disadvantage, so is love. They were never meant to blind us, to become a “disadvantage”. If only we can just grasp the enormity of these feelings, they will never become a disadvantage; they can always be a reminder of the silver lining in every dark cloud, or the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow or whatever idiom or cliché you want to put it.

And so, hang on. Every storm and rainbow shall pass, what matters is that you live to feel and see it through.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Sherlock

    1. It is definitely one of my favorite shows too! I can’t wait for the next season. Actually, I think the show influenced me into writing again.. somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg it may have! When I told my brother that I made a blog, he immediately made the connection that I was inspired by John Watson to do so LOL. Can’t believe the next season won’t be aired til 2017.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

