Nonfiction · Prose

Slow Down

I’ve recently went to Hong Kong, it is indeed a shopper’s paradise in Asia. You’ll find little trinkets to 24 karat gold almost in every corner. Not to mention various clothing stores in line, inviting you in with big and bold letters, the word SALE.

And yet despite the feast for the eyes, I can’t help but notice how past-faced everyone seems to be. From pedestrians crossing the street; to people boarding the trains; to customers and employees of food chains – they all appear to have a constant battle against time.

With my final exams approaching, juggling between social life and duties… I’ve been reminded of such “busy” lifestyle, because somehow I feel like one of them, not having enough time to just even catch my breath.

So, with papers to be submitted and an exam that I need to pass tomorrow, I have chosen to take this time to reflect and write. Yes, it may seem irresponsible of me, but I know deeply that this is beyond procrastination – this is a need.

Life can be a little too overwhelming. It can drown you in a pool full of obligations and desires. And just like in swimming, you need to take a breath every once in a while.

A deep breath to think and ponder. A deep breath before you pull a trigger. A deep breath to help keep your sensibility.

Note to self: When life demands you to fast-forward, take a pause.

11 thoughts on “Slow Down

    1. I just went there for a short trip. I just turned 20 a few months back. Wow! Another Filipina! First day in this course, and it’s already filled with wonderful surprises.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You are so right! Thank you for helping me chill a little bit during finals season. I just followed you and I’m looking forward to your upcoming posts. I would love it if you could check out my blog too πŸ™‚ I also make random life reflections and I think you might enjoy them.

    My most recent post is on how we have a ton of contradictory characteristics, and why we should embrace them

    https://aislingahearne.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/why-life-is-made-of-contradictions/

    Hope you’re doing well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

