Prose

021410

Best friend (n.)

I was dancing with him, and you with her – we were both satisfied, happy. I saw you storm off from the dance floor, leaving her. With a gown a little too heavy, heels a few inches too high, without a second thought I ran after you. He was running right behind me. From a distance, I saw you getting a paper-wrapped gift almost as big as me. I know you didn’t see, but that night, I just smiled. I held his hand, assuring myself more than him, as we make our way back, but a thought has always lingered:

You’re in love, so am I.

11 thoughts on “021410

Leave a Reply

