Nonfiction · Prose

Sugar, Spice and Everything Nice?

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

People can be divided into two groups: those that does not eat chili, those that love spices.

Growing up, I have always said no to spicy food. Preferred the safe savory stuff. In fact, I have always avoided anything with chili just out of prejudice, I enjoyed every bit of it then. But came my late teenage years, thanks to the rebellious hormones, I discovered the rich and exciting flavor of spicy greatness.

When asked this question, my initial reaction was, “Wild kind of spicy, of course.”. But that was just my impulsive genes talking. Taken into perspective, how spicy can one really take just to taste the flavor of success? Would you still enjoy it if it’s burning hot? Or would success still be bland with the lack of it?

What would my right kind of spicy be like?

HOT Buffalo Wings

If failures are going to dictate how racy the flavor’s going to be, with the love I have for winning, it’s going to be such a tough decision. Losing in such small dares I have with friends is enough to throw me out of my mood. Simply imagine how I’d feel facing a major setback on a long-run race. On the other hand, can I sit through a whole pot of pasta without its herbs and spices? But then, I can look at it on a much positive note, winning the long race with setbacks encountered is certainly more rewarding and satisfying, right?

Spicy or not, wouldn’t success still taste perfectly cooked if you gave your everything while it’s cooking? After all, the best recipe advice, I believe, is pouring out your whole heart into the dish. 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Spice of Success.”

15 thoughts on “Sugar, Spice and Everything Nice?

  1. Absolutely. This is exactly how I feel about success – doing what your heart desires and what best you can do – regardless of anyone-else’s assessment of your success – they have their parameters, you have yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

