Nonfiction · Prose

Cheetos and Decisions

Two nights ago, my class was canceled just as I was about to go to school. Fortunately for my starving stomach, I was two blocks away from a small town mall; I hit the grocery without further ado. To my dismay, the grocery wasn’t organized. I even had a hard time finding Oreosย (which I truly love, insert the Oreo song from the commercial). When I got to the chips section, the Cheetos in the rack were truly limited, say just three packs or so. I was about to grab the Cheetos Jalapeรฑo but then I saw the Flamin’ Hot one – I knew I had to decide to only get one.

It was the biggest decision I’ve made that day. I even called a significant guy to ask him what I should grab – I don’t trust my decision making skills, it has failed me quite a number of times already. He told me to grab the latter, I immediately questioned his choice, describing how the pack of the Flamin’ Hot Cheetos seemed tattered already. He told me to still take it, probably since he knows how much I really like it. So, I did.

When I got home, I turned on the laptop and decided to watch the awesome series Breaking Bad again and munch triumphantly on my Cheetos. I made the right choice – despite the suspicious feel of the packaging. As shallow as that experienced seemed to be, I got reminded of an important thing: Don’t settle for less just because it feels safe. Yes, some options may be a little risky, but as the cliche goes, you’ll never know unless you try.

Decisions, Decisions

22 thoughts on “Cheetos and Decisions

      1. Hahahaha! Calories Shmalories! XD I personally do it too.

        If it’s a once in a while event, might as well savor the whole pack to settle those hunger pangs anyways ๐Ÿ˜€ No harm done in indulging once in a while. X)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The most important lessons of life are often hidden in everyday experiences. You are right. Unless we find the spunk to try out something new, we’d miss out on a lot of nicer, more interesting, better things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

