Nonfiction · Prose

No To Fear

“Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”

— J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

I haven’t had the time to post anything and keep up with the writing prompts lately because life got in the way – in the most pleasant way I can think of. And I’m not saying this just to promote positivity, but because I’m really more than thankful for all the blessings these past few days.

I know the whole world’s sympathizing with Paris right now, and being more than happy doesn’t fit right in the equation so I did the best thing I could for them today – actually pray for the families of the victims, and that justice may be granted. It may not provide them physical proof of my sympathy, I may not have changed my Facebook profile picture account to join the rest of the world, but I know that somehow I did my part. And from experience, I’ve learned that prayers count.

Honestly, I’ve only read a few articles regarding the Paris attacks and a few snippet of news regarding terrorism and all these has only made me, well, firstly agitated but more than that, there’s this lingering feeling of sadness. Not only because of the lives that were ended and all that follows for their loved ones, but because of the reality of how we spend our borrowed time here on (guess what) our yet again borrowed home planet.

A Facebook friend of mine has just posted “proofs” that attacks on various cities worldwide by terrorists might happen and that even includes our country. She must have the intention of spreading awareness and trying to tell people to keep safe but you can’t deny the fact that all these promotes fear, even in the littlest way.

Would you believe that this is how life’s supposed to be? I don’t think so.

I don’t believe that we’re all meant to wake up each day with fear of losing a loved one and even our lives as soon as we get up from our beds. Fear should not have a place in our lives, and there’s nothing else that can drive it out other than faith.

Think about it thoroughly, the only remaining question lies on where we place our faith.

2 thoughts on “No To Fear

  1. Reblogged this on Quiche in Paris (Canada) !! and commented:
    Prayer-full intentions are some of the best ways to help; especially when united globally. Pray for Peace. Hold steadfast to your faith, hope, help, belief. Banish all negative thoughts and any self doubt. Filled with inner strength, purpose, peace and community spirit. When we can do nothing else; Pray for Peace collectively.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

