Poems

PERHAPS

Perhaps,

in waking dreams,

in beautiful nightmares,

in each dusk and dawn,

a piece of you,

I still hold on to.

*

Perhaps,

on the first of October,

wailing winds, shivering cold,

I already whispered

how much I do.

*

Perhaps,

whilst rope tautens,

words scar as knives do,

I grasped tighter,

bled it all for you.

*

Perhaps,

a million more matches

I should have burned;

bottles drank to drown

the aching truth –

leave and  let go.

*

Perhaps,

in another time,

I would have done so.

but in this world,

made the right choice.

yet,

as tears are still to shed,

battle scars left to tend,

Perhaps,

 I should have not.

5 thoughts on “PERHAPS

  1. Wonderful poem. Very thoughtful. Too easy to say the wrong words, or ones you realize we’re wrong. As I guess in this case, her words of acceptance, were most certainly wrong left with “tears to shed” and “battle scars.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

